An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

News | Jan. 25, 2017

Photographer receives surprise recognition during awards ceremony

By Jason Kaneshiro DLA Troop Support Public Affairs

Several Defense Logistics Agency Troop Support employees received recognition for their service and accomplishments during a quarterly awards ceremony Jan. 19.

Before announcing the awards, Army Brig. Gen. Charles Hamilton, DLA Troop Support commander, surprised photographer Ed Maldonado with a commander’s coin and a certificate of appreciation.

Maldonado said it felt good to receive the unexpected recognition and that he takes great satisfaction in his job taking photos of the workforce here.

“My greatest reward is when I put a smile on their faces,” Maldonado said. “When I can make them look good, I feel good.”

Hamilton praised the workforce for what they do to support the warfighter and emphasized the importance of their efforts.

“You affect millions of lives across all the services. These awards are indicative of who you are,” Hamilton said. “Thanks for what you do.”

The awardees were as follows:

Defense Meritorious Service Medal

Army Col. Eric Jackson


Joint Service Commendation Medal

Army Capt. Shawnette Haynes


Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Quarter

Army Master Sgt. Cynthia Gyening


Under Secretary Of Defense (Acquisition, Technology & Logistics) Award for Excellence

Army Maj. John Lopes

Mary Martin


National Image Award

Jose Ramos


Superior Civilian Service Award

William Dulin

Matthew Hammett

William Waydelis

Andrea Woodring


Director’s Strategic Goal Awards – DLA Resiliency Working Group

Christina Panichelle

Elias Dungca

Patricia Lynch

Diana Stewart


2016 Mid Atlantic Acquisition Council

Excellence in Acquisition Award & Star Note from the Commander

Maliza Maldonado


Subsistence National Contracts Team

Gina Vasquez

Leah Aleman

Anthony Brown

Cathie Capriotti

Matt Conville

Sonny Cosmas

Tim Dlugokecki

Sally Gallagher

Army Lt. Col. Debra Hernandez

Nancy Hildreth

Kati McCulloch

Robin Novak

Gordon Peterson

Janine Samoni

R. Zen Schaper

Zoraya Wilson

John Woloszyn


Lean Six Sigma Black Belt

Maximo Ayala


Lean Six Sigma Green Belts

Raymond Finch

Navy Lt. Shervon James

Navy Lt. Anthony Meyer

Christopher Reina


Team of the Quarter – Medical Contingency Contracting Team

Rose Adams

Mark Bernacki

Steven Budd

Paul Buford

Michael Callos

Clara Carr-Felder

Barbara Duffy

Brian McGrath

Melissa McMichael (Randazzo)

David Mourar

Sunday Oladele

Temeka Ridout

William Woltjen


Employee of the Month

Carlos Velez

Wayne Williamson


35 Years of Service

Jepheth White

Darrah Wilson


30 Years of Service

Charlene Harley

Marsha Museka

Dewey Smith

Mark Stone


Senior Executive Service Note of Appreciation

Andrea Alston-Brundage

Jennifer Hamby

Leisa Hough

Janice Hvorecky

Vincent Key

Patricia Lynch

Leronette Massey

Lisa Shields


Combined Federal Campaign certificates

Lisa Shields

Ramona Hemphill

Air Force Capt. Kevin Bourne

Eric Cobar

Pauline Clark-Cox

Annemarie Ervin

Jennifer Hamby

Michelle Harrison

Beatrice Ross