An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

News | May 23, 2019

2019 DoD Fuels Award Ceremony

By Elizabeth Stoeckmann DLA Energy Public Affairs

Celebrating 53 years of excellence in fuels management operation and fuel handling, the 2019 Department of Defense Fuels Awards Ceremony took place at the Gaylord National Hotel and Conference Center in National Harbor, Maryland, May 21.

Defense Logistics Agency Energy hosted the annual fuels awards ceremony during its Worldwide Energy Conference.

“Tonight, we recognize the best-of-the-best at what we do – getting fuel to the Warfighter when and where they need it,” said DLA Energy Commander Air Force Brig. Gen. Albert Miller. “The criteria and categories differ for each service, but they share the common bond of outstanding performance and pride as professionals.”

Each year the Army, Air Force, Navy and Marine Corps service control points nominate the best fuels management operations in DoD and pay special tribute to excellence in fuel handling. Each service control point screens its applicants through an intensive quality control criterion. 

“We are very excited about this year’s ceremony,” said Army Petroleum Commander Col. Eduardo Santiago. “The winners represent thousands of military and civilian personnel who ensure quality fuel is delivered on time, every time.”

Naval Supply Systems Command Officer in Charge Capt. Matt Holman and Marine Corps Chief Warrant Officer 5 Richard Cordes presented the excellence in Naval Fuel Management Recognition Program for the Navy and Marine Corps individuals and units that made the most significant contributions to the fuels mission during the calendar year:

Marine Corps Fuels Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year: Sgt. Christian Baxter of Marine Corps Air Station Beaufort, South Carolina.

Navy Fuels Petty Officer of the Year: Petty Officer Zachary DeVinney of Naval Supply Systems Command Fleet Logistics Center Sigonella, Italy.

Marine Corps Fuels Staff Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year: Gunnery Sgt. Matthew Given of Marine Corps Air Station Futenma, Okinawa, Japan.

Navy Fuels Chief Petty Officer of the Year: Senior Chief Petty Officer Calvin Jones of Naval Supply Systems Command Fleet Logistics Center, Yokosuka, Japan.

Marine Corps Fuels Officer of the Year: Chief Warrant Officer 3 Pedro Peraza of Marine Corps Installations Command West.

Navy Fuels Officer of the Year: Lt. Igor Mendel from Naval Supply Systems Command Fleet Logistics Center Sigonella, Italy.

Navy Retail Fuel Activity of the Year: Naval Air Station Key West, Florida.

Navy Bulk Fuel Terminal of the Year: Defense Fuel Support Point-Point Loma, San Diego, California.

Marine Corps [Fuels] Civilian of the Year: Rauol Bolduc, Marine Corps Air Station Iwakuni, Japan.

Navy Fuels Civilian of the Year: Andrea Lemon from Naval Supply Systems Command Fleet Logistics Center Sigonella, Italy.

Outstanding Marine Corps Tactical Unit: Marine Unit Support Detachment 24, Kaneohe Bay, Hawaii.

Outstanding Marine Corps Outstanding Fuel Facility: Marine Corps Air Station, Yuma, Arizona.

Continuing with presentations, Santiago and Army Petroleum Center Senior Petroleum Advisor Chief Warrant Officer 3 Travis Thibodeaux presented the annual Army Award for Petroleum Excellence that recognizes total Army units and staff that exhibit excellence in petroleum operations:

Tactical Petroleum Unit of the Year: 289th Composite Supply Company, Fort Hood, Texas.

Petroleum Staff Operations of the Year: 209th Aviation Support Battalion, Wheeler Army Airfield, Hawaii.

Unit Petroleum Laboratory Operations of the Year: 959th Quartermaster Detachment, Fort Bragg, North Carolina.

Three recipients received individual awards in the categories of petroleum soldier, leader and staff member:
• Army’s Outstanding Tactical Petroleum Soldier and Operator of the Year is Spc. Renard Williams, 59th Quartermaster Company, Fort Carson, Colorado.
• Army’s Outstanding Tactical Petroleum Leader of the Year is Staff Sgt. Kikarus Redding, 59th Quartermaster Company, Fort Carson, Colorado.
• Army’s Outstanding Petroleum Staff Member of the Year is Warrant Officer Joseph Pina, 504th Composite Supply Company, Fort Bliss, Texas.

“It is important to have events like this to recognize excellence amongst excellence,” Miller said. “I am impressed by the sense of teamwork this particular community has.”

The awards ceremony has been held since 2004 in conjunction with the DLA Energy WWEC to recognize those awardees at the DoD level and in the fuels community.

“This is a DoD-wide award ceremony facilitated by the service control points to recognize all soldiers, sailors, Marines, airmen and DoD civilian excellence in fuel handling operations across the world,” Thibodeaux said. “It is tradition that we request for support from the DLA Energy commander to speak at this event, in which brings value to the ceremony and great experience for the awardees.”

Editors: The Air Force was not able to attend and will receive their awards at a later date.