News | May 11, 2021

Second quarter employees of the quarter

By DLA Energy Public Affairs

Defense Logistics Agency Energy Commander Air Force Brig. Gen. Jimmy Canlas announced Energy’s second quarter, fiscal year 2021 military, civilian and strategic goals employees of the quarter.

“Please help me in congratulating these awesome teammates for their amazing accomplishments,” Canlas said in an email to the workforce. “Thanks to supervisors for highlighting our outstanding teammates!” 

DLA Energy military winners are:

Army Maj. Daniel Gaitan, DLA Energy Strategic Communications Group Military Deputy Director, won the field grade officer category

Air Force Capt. Cody Gibson, DLA Energy East Pacific Operations Officer, won the company grade officer category

Navy Petty Officer 1st Class Robert Russell, DLA Energy Middle East Supply Petty Officer, won the junior NCO category

DLA Energy civilian winners are: 

William Kennedy, DLA Energy Japan Resolution Specialist, won the GS/WG/WL 7-12 category 

Irene Smith, DLA Energy Strategic Communications Group Deputy Director and Public Affairs Officer, won the GS13-15/WS category

DLA Director's Strategic Goals Award nomination:

DLA Energy Americas East Southeast Quality Team won the Small Team Category. The nine member team is assigned across four states and coordinates with Headquarters DLA Energy Quality Program Managers to provide Contract Quality Assurance/Surveillance of over $245 million in energy support to over 50 Department of Defense installations as well as Federal/Civilian agencies throughout Alabama, Georgia, Florida, South Carolina, both Central and South America, Bermuda, and the Caribbean areas of operation.  

The team members are:

Fernando Romero
Stacy Stoll
Bryan Hill
Angela Phillips
Jerry Allen
Army Sgt. 1st Class Billy Viljoen
Ronnie Brock
Elias Odar
Air Force Tech Sgt. Dominic Mersino

“We all know that no one succeeds alone, so I offer my personal thanks to everyone who was part of the larger team that continues to make us successful day-in and day-out,” Canlas said. “Again, congratulations to all the winners as well as to those who were submitted for competition!”