What Are DEMIL Codes?

DEMIL codes are assigned to DOD personal property that indicate the required degree of physical destruction, identifies items requiring specialized handling or processing, and identifies items which do not require DEMIL. DEMIL F and other codes can require additional guidelines to be followed prior to turn in to DLA Disposition Services.

The DEMIL Codes below are listed as the Highest Severity to the Lowest Severity in DEMIL Coding

Code Explanation

Code Explanation
G USML or CCL Military Items – DEMIL required – ammunition and explosives (AE). This code applies to both unclassified and classified AE items.
P USML Items – DEMIL required. Security classified items.
F USML or CCL Military Items – DEMIL required. Item managers, equipment specialists, or product specialists must furnish special DEMIL instructions.
D USML or CCL Military Items – DEMIL required. Destroy item and components to prevent restoration or repair to a usable condition.
C USML or CCL Military Items – DEMIL required. Remove or demilitarize installed key point(s) items as DEMIL code "D".
E DoD DEMIL Program Office reserves this code for its exclusive-use only. DEMIL instructions must be furnished by the DoD DEMIL Program Office
B USML Items – Mutilation (MUT) to the point of scrap required worldwide.
Q Commerce Control List Item (CCLI) – MUT to the point of scrap required outside the United States. Inside the United States, MUT is required when the DEMIL integrity code (IC) is “3” and MUT is not required when the DEMIL IC is "6."
A Items subject to the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) in parts 730-774 of Title 15, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) (CCLI or EAR99) and determined by the DoD to present a low risk when released out of DoD control. No DEMIL, MUT, or end use certificate is required. May require an export license from DOC.

General Note

For additional information on DEMIL codes and use, see DOD MANUAL 4160.28, VOLUME 2 DEMIL Coding


DEMIL Coding Tables 

Customer Interaction Center